Alter Markt Dortmund – THE meeting place in the city

The Alter Markt in Dortmund. A popular watering hole for the locals, it’s synonymous with tradition, a welcoming vibe and of course glorious beer. At the first rays of sunshine in springtime, landlords will whisk out the tables and chairs to transform this historic market place into the biggest beer garden in Dortmund.

That’s why there’s nowhere nicer to be in summer. It’s the perfect spot to grab a drink, catch some sun and soak up the laid-back atmosphere. With the fountain murmuring in the background, Wenkers, Pfefferkorn and numerous other restaurants will indulge you with a cool beer and good, German fare.

Alter Markt

Markt
44137 Dortmund

Alter Markt Dortmund by the Reinoldi Church

The Alter Markt has been the beating heart of Dortmund for centuries. Situated near the Reinoldi Church, it serves as a popular central meeting place. At one time it was home to the town hall and a weekly market, but the market has since moved to the neighbouring Hansaplatz, while the new town hall is to be found at Friedensplatz.

Nevertheless, the Alter Markt has lost none of its charm. And when hundreds of BVB fans congregate on match days, it’s as bustling as it ever was. In the weeks leading up to Christmas it also hosts one of the main sections of Dortmund’s famous Christmas Market.

Alter Markt Dortmund – DER Treffpunkt in der City

Alter Markt Dortmund. Datt* steht für Gemütlichkeit, Tradition und natürlich lecker Bierchen*. Denn die Wirte holen Stühle und Tische raus, sobald sich die Sonne im Frühjahr blicken lässt. Dann wird aus dem historischen Marktplatz der "größte Biergarten" in Dortmund.

Im Sommer gibt's deshalb auch keinen schöneren Platz in der Innenstadt. Setz dich, lass dir die Sonne ins Gesicht scheinen und erlebe die Dortmunder Gastfreundschaft. Während der Bläserbrunnen plätschert, verwöhnen dich Wenkers, Pfefferkorn und viele andere Restaurants mit einem kühlen Bierchen und gutem, deutschen Essen.

Alter Markt Dortmund an der Reinoldikirche

Der Alte Markt ist schon seit Jahrhunderten das Herzstück Dortmunds. Er liegt in der Nähe der Reinoldikirche und ist der zentrale Versammlungsplatz. Früher war er die Heimat des Rathauses und des Wochenmarktes. Inzwischen ist der Wochenmarkt auf den benachbarten Hansaplatz umgezogen, und das Rathaus steht am Friedensplatz.

Trotzdem hat der Alte Markt nichts von seiner Gemütlichkeit eingebüßt Und wenn sich vor BVB-Heimspielen hunderte Fans auf dem Platz tummeln, ist es dort auch fast so wuselig wie zu alten Wochenmarkt-Zeiten. In der Adventszeit ist er einer der zentralen Standorte des Dortmunder Weihnachtsmarktes.


* Datt = Das | lecker Bierchen = selbsterklärend :) | wuselig = voll, unruhig

Alter Markt

Markt
44137 Dortmund