domicil: Jazz and cocktails in Dortmund city centre

Loud, quiet, snappy, rhythmic and unexpected. That’s what jazz is, and so much more! This style of music lives from improvisation, it is individual and above all it is diverse: every concert is different.

You can find out whether it appeals to you – often for free – at Dortmund’s “domicil” jazz club near the Kampstraße underground station. According to the US American Down Beat magazine, the club in Dortmund’s city centre is one of the 100 best jazz clubs in the world – so a perfect opportunity to get to know jazz in all its many facets. The spectrum ranges from modern and electronic jazz through to funk and soul.

Musicians such as Götz Alsmann, Attila Zlle and the Vienna Art Orchestra, to name just a few, have stood on the stage here. But the club regularly gives up-and-coming musicians the chance to perform here too.

domicil

Hansastraße 7-11
44137 Dortmund

Website

Intimate atmosphere in the “Small Hall” at the domicil Dortmund

Two different stages are available for concerts. They each have their very own character. It’s a bit different from going to huge concerts, where the people all push to the front to get a glimpse of their idols. The small hall at domicil is a particularly intimate venue. It might remind you of a cosy living room and is not much bigger than that either. Artists and public get quite close to each other at concerts. In the second, larger hall there is space for up to 500 people and they put on parties here as well.

The Monday Night Sessions are especially popular in the events calendar, as the best young session musicians from North Rhine-Westphalia take to the stage with an opening band. And all for free.

Secret tip: the bar

The bar on the ground floor is a secret gem too. Its urban style is something you normally only see in metropolises like New York City. It has a huge selection of spirits and cocktails You can also chill here in the evenings without going to a concert.

domicil: Jazz und Cocktails in der Dortmunder Innenstadt

Laut, leise, zackig, rhythmisch und unerwartet. Das alles und noch viel mehr ist Jazz! Der Musikstil lebt von Improvisation, ist individuell und vor allem vielfältig: Jedes Konzert kann anders klingen.

Ob das etwas für dich ist, kannst du im Dortmunder Jazzclubs „domicil“ in der Nähe der U-Bahn-Haltestelle Kampstraße testen – oftmals sogar kostenlos! Laut dem US-amerikanischen Down Beat Magazin gehört der Club in der Dortmunder Innenstadt zu den 100 besten Jazzclubs der Welt – perfekt also, um Jazz in all seinen Facetten kennenzulernen. Das Spek­trum reicht hier von Modern Jazz über Electronics bis hin zu Funk und Soul.

Musikerinnen und Musiker wie Götz Alsmann, Attila Zolle und das Vienna Art Orchestra standen hier zum Beispiel schon auf der Bühne. Der Club gibt aber auch regelmäßig Nachwuchsmusikerinnen und -musikern die Chance, sich zu präsentieren.

domicil

Hansastraße 7-11
44137 Dortmund

zur Webseite

Intime Atmosphäre im kleinen Saal des domicil Dortmund

Für Konzerte stehen zwei Bühnen zur Verfügung. Die punkten mit einer ganz eigenen Atmosphäre. Anders als bei Riesen-Konzerten, wo sich die Menschenmassen nach vorne drängen, um einen Blick auf ihr Idol erhaschen zu können, ist vor allem der kleine Saal im domicil fast schon intim. Er erinnert an ein gemütliches Wohnzimmer, ist auch ungefähr genauso schnuckelig „groß“. Künstler und Publikum kommen sich bei Auftritten ganz nah. In den zweiten Saal passen hingen bis zu 500 Leute. Hier finden auch Partys statt.

Besonders beliebt im Veranstaltungskalender ist zum Beispiel die Monday Night Session, denn dann spielen hier die besten jungen Sessionmusiker aus Nordrhein-Westfalen zusammen mit einer Opener-Band. Das Ganze für umme*!

Geheimtipp: die Bar

Geheimtipp ist die Bar im Erdgeschoss. Mehrfach ausgezeichnet, im urbanen Stil wie man sie sonst nur in Metropolen wie New York City findet und mit einer großen Auswahl an Spirituosen und Cocktails! Du kannst hier auch unabhängig von Konzerten den Abend ausklingen lassen.


* (für) umme = kostenlos