FZW: Dance, cheer and sing the night away at concerts and in the club

The lights go on. A buzz of excitement. Stretching up to see as much as possible. Up on your toes. And then they walk out onto the stge. The headliners. What everyone’s been waiting for and now they are rocking it. The crowd erupts. A typical evening in the FZW.

FZW stands for Freizeitzentrum West – or Leisure Centre West. In addition to the Westfalenhalle, the Warsteiner Music Hall, the domicil and the Concert Hall, this is one of THE venues for concerts in Dortmund. Artists such as Bosse, Milow and Sido have all performed here. 1300 people fit into the hall. And there’s a smaller club attached as well.

FZW

Ritterstraße 20
44137 Dortmund

FZW: Concert venue and party palace

Right next to the Dortmunder U in the Unionviertel – just a couple of minutes’ walk from the main station, they put on cool concerts and plenty of parties here as well. For example: Indie Nights, 90s Parties or even the Jet-Black-Night – an electro party. The FZE wants to cover as many music scenes and subcultures as possible and is very varied with around 250 events per year.

They also put on uni parties, and motto parties – for example at carnival time. One of the most popular events is the monthly poetry slam, which you should definitely get to early as tickets and places disappear quickly. Have fun!

FZW: Tanzen, Jubeln, Mitsingen bei Konzerten und im Club

Lichter gehen an. Die Besucher werden hibbelig. Recken und strecken sich; um möglichst viel zu sehen. Noch ein Stückchen höher auf die Zehenspitzen. Und dann kommen sie auf die Bühne. Die Headliner. Sie, wegen derer sie alle gekommen sind. Und sie rocken das Haus. Die Menge geht ab. Ein typischer Abend im FZW.

Das steht kurz für: Freizeitzentrum West. Neben der Westfalenhalle, der Warsteiner Music Hall, dem Domicil und dem Konzerthaus der Ort für Konzerte in Dortmund. Künstler wie Bosse, Milow und Sido sind hier schon aufgetreten. In die Halle passen 1.300 Leute. Außerdem gibt’s noch einen kleineren Club.

FZW: Konzertzentrum und Partyhochburg

Denn direkt neben dem Dortmunder U im Unionviertel – nur ein paar Minuten vom Hauptbahnhof entfernt, steigen neben Konzerten auch regelmäßig Partys. Zum Beispiel Indie Nights, 90er Partys oder auch die rabenschwarze Nacht – eine Electroparty. Das FZW will möglichst viele musikalische Szenen und Subkulturen abdecken und ist mit seinen ca. 250 Veranstaltungen im Jahr deswegen breit gefächert.

Auch Unipartys steigen, genauso wie Mottopartys – zum Beispiel zu Altweiber. Zu den beliebtesten Veranstaltungen gehört überdies der monatlich stattfindende Poetry Slam, zu dem du unbedingt früh kommen solltest – um noch Karten und Plätze zu ergattern. Viel Spaß!

FZW

Ritterstraße 20
44137 Dortmund

zur Webseite