Westfalenhalle Dortmund – concerts and events

Max Schmeling and Pink Floyd have played here. Freddie Mercury has too. And Herbert Grönemeyer as well of course. Why not come and visit the legendary Westfalenhalle Dortmund too. Lots of bands and other artists still enthuse about the fantastic acoustics and unique atmosphere here.

The Westfalenhalle was originally built back in 1925 as a wooden structure but it was completely destroyed by bombing in May 1944. The new building to replace it was opened in 1952. Made of concrete, it has a huge self-supporting domed roof with no pillars inside to get in the way of the view of the stage. The Westfalenhalle is now a heritage protected building – and it is still produces a fantastic atmosphere at the concerts or the mega-events such as Mayday or at the ADAC Supercross which are put on there. 

You can get to the Westfalenhalle Dortmund fastest by taking the number U41 underground tram from the main railway station. There are also loads of parking spaces but, if BVB is playing at the same time and if you are not staying in a hotel, you should try to get there early, as things can get pretty busy.

You will find an events calendar and tickets for concerts and events at the Westfalenhallen website.

Westfalenhalle

Rheinlanddamm 200
44139 Dortmund

Website

(only in German)

Westfalenhalle Dortmund – Konzerte und Events

Max Schmeling und Pink Floyd waren schon da. Freddie Mercury auch. Und Herbert Grönemeyer sowieso. Willst du da nicht auch die legendäre Westfalenhalle Dortmund besuchen? Immer noch schwärmen Bands und sonstige Künstler von der großartigen Akustik und der einzigartigen Stimmung hier.

Die Westfalenhalle wurde 1925 als Holkonstruktion gebaut, die im Mai 1944 durch Bombenangriffe völlig zerstört wurde. 1952 wurde der Neubau eröffnet. Er ist eine Betonkonstruktion mit freischwebendem Dach, daher gibt es keine störenden Stützpfeiler im Innenraum. Mittlerweile steht die Westfalenhalle unter Denkmalschutzder stört aber nicht, wenn bei Megaevents wie der Mayday oder dem ADAC Supercross ordentlich Stimmung aufkommt.

Du erreichst die Westfalenhalle Dortmund am schnellsten mit der U-Bahn-Linie 45 vom Hauptbahnhof. Es gibt außerdem viele Parkplätze für dein Auto. Wenn der BVB zeitgleich spielt, solltest du aber frühzeitig anreisen, wenn du nicht in einem Hotel übernachtest.

Einen Veranstaltungskalender und Tickets für Konzerte und Events findest du auf der Seite der Westfalenhallen.

Westfalenhalle

Rheinlanddamm 200
44139 Dortmund

zur Webseite